Every once in a while I like to do something fun and fancy for my husband. Sometimes it’s for a special event, like our anniversary or Valentine’s Day, and other times it’s just for fun. I also like to pretend I’m a fancy a chef like my brother and hiimg_20170114_1737521s fiancée actually are. Either way, my go to way of making myself feel fancy in the kitchen is by making Crème Brûlée.

My brother bought me all the stuff to make crème brûlée a couple years ago, and since then it’s been a go to favourite in our house. However, most recipes are for six and I really only need two. Once I made a dozen for a friend’s birthday, but usually it’s just my husband and I (and Sam, but he doesn’t get any yet). So for your convenience I have scaled down my favourite crème brûlée recipe so that it makes exactly enough to share. Plus, my favourite variation for extra special “pretend it’s fancy” occasions.

Vanilla Crème Brûlée for two

2 egg yolks

⅔ cup heavy cream

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla (or one vanilla bean)

+ optional Cappuccino Creme  Brûlée

2 tsp espresso or strong coffee

1 tbsp Baileys or Kahlua

Preheat oven to 275oFimg_20170114_1730400

In a medium bowl whisk egg yolks and sugar until dissolved.img_20170114_1731285Pour in cream, vanilla and espresso and Baileys if using, and whisk until combined.img_20170114_1732443

Place 2 standard sized flan dishes into a baking pan (a 9×13 cake pan works perfectly) and divide the custard evenly between them.img_20170114_1736489

Pour about 2 cups of water in the baking pan around the flan dishes, so the water is about half way up the sides. This helps the custard cook evenly all the way through without overcooking on top.

Bake for about 30-40 minutes, until the custard jiggles slightly.img_20170114_2154282

Remove from the oven and lift the dishes out of the hot water. My brother has no feeling in his fingers and just pulls them out, but I recommend using a large flipper to lift them out without burning yourself or getting your oven mitts wet.

Let cool for a couple minutes and then move to the fridge. Let them set in the fridge for at least 2 hours, but up to 2 days if you’re planning ahead.img_20170114_2158516

When ready to serve, sprinkle about a tsp of sugar evenly over top of each one. If you have a handheld torch, use that to brown the sugar on top. If you don’t have a torch, set your oven to “broil”, move one rack up to the top position and place the dishes back in the oven for a few minutes. Not too long or the custard will melt, but long enough that the sugar to melt and slightly brown.

 

There you have it! Crème Brûlée for two.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

